This Week in Doctor WhoThis Week in Doctor Who

This Week in United Kingdom


See broadcasts for Radio 4 ExtraThe Launch Of BBC7

Last updated 02 January 2017
Broadcast: Sunday 15th December 2002
8:00pm-10:00pm GMT » Premiere »
Radio 4 Extra - see BBC's Genome Entry
Google

Presented by Paul Merton. A Radio 4/BBC7 simulcast to celebrate the launch of the BBC's new digital speech radio station. Paul chooses a selection of comedy, drama and readings from the new network, including Knowing Me, Knowing You, Dead Ringers, The Goon Show, Fatherland and The Ruby in the Smoke.


Synopsis Source: BBC Genome

Details from BBC Radio 4's listing, as the BBC 7 listings weren't available until 2007! TWiDW reported that a clip from The Paradise Of Death also featured during this programme.

Broadcast Source: BBC
 

Reports from the This Week in Doctor Who Archive:

Wednesday 11th December 2002:
BBC Radio 4 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/
Realplayer link on website.
Sun 8PM GMT (3PM EST, Noon PST, Mon 7AM AEDT) BBC Radio 7 Premiere Night
Simulcast of the launch of Radio 7. Will be on both the domestic Radio 4 and Radio 4 LW.

Wednesday 11th December 2002:
{c[13=BBC Radio 7}} http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc7/
Realplayer link on website
Digital radio station, also available through UK digital TV.
Sun 8PM GMT (3PM EST, Noon PST, Mon 7AM AEDT) BBC Radio 7 Premiere Night
During the 8PM GMT hour, there will be a clip from The Paradise Of Death, a 1993 Jon Pertwee Doctor Who radio drama. Also expect a Doctor Who themed Dead Ringers clip.
BBC Radio 7 will air sci-fi programming 7 nights a week at 6PM and Midnight GMT. 30 minutes weeknights, 60 minutes weekends. Doctor Who is expected to be a feature on the station, but was not on the listings through 28 December according to Digiguide.