This Week in Doctor WhoThis Week in Doctor Who

This Week in Doctor Who: Print Archive


Wednesday 13th August 2003



This Week In Doctor Who - August 13, 2003
(posted 13th Aug 2003, 12:28pm - TWIDW post #0171)
THIS WEEK IN DOCTOR WHO - August 13, 2003
by Benjamin F. Elliott
Vol 6, No 33
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho
thisweekindoctorwho-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
This is the week that the BBV http://www.bbvonline.co.uk/ stories have their US broadcast premiere. The Airzone Solution and Auton will air on KTEH 54 San Jose, CA http://www.kteh.org/ http://www.dvillage.org/ on Sunday August 17 from 8 to 11PM PDT, with a rerun on Friday August 22 from 11:30PM to 2:30AM PDT as part of KTEH's pledge programming. They are accepting pledges from outside the San Francisco/San Jose/Oakland/Watsonville/Monterey area if people want to support their decision to import the BBV stories - the phone numbers are in KTEH's regular section of the column further down. TV Guide was erroneously listing the evening as just "pledge programming". This has been corrected in their online version.

If the pledge night is successful, KTEH will be syndicating these and most of the other BBV stories to any public TV stations that express interest. Iowa Public TV http://www.iptv.org/ has announced in the last week that they have struck a special deal to air The Airzone Solution and Auton on Saturday September 27 from 9 to 11:30PM.

BBV (Bill & Ben Video) http://www.bbvonline.co.uk/ is an independent production company in the UK which has produced sci-fi video and audio stories for over a decade. The stories typically star actors from Doctor Who, characters from Doctor Who, or both. The stories run from 30 to 90 minutes each, and vary from drama to comedy, from PG to 18 certificate in the UK. A few of their stories have had limited cable exposure in Europe, but until now they have been largely seen as direct to video productions, with little mainstream exposure. It will be interesting to see if they succeed on TV.
KTEH returned to Dish Network in the last week at its old location (54 new receivers, 8234 old receivers), so Bay Area subscribers to Dish with the locals package can once again see KTEH in this manner. KTEH is also on DirecTV's San Francisco locals package at 54 on new receivers and 903 on old receivers, while their repeater KCAH 25 is on the Monterey Dish Network locals at 25 on new reeivers and 9190 on old receivers. DirecTV doesn't offer local channels to the Monterey area yet, so KCAH viewers with DirecTV who want to see the BBV programs will have to watch over the air or by cable.
ABC Australia http://www.abc.net.au/tv/ has confirmed that they have ordered the complete Doctor Who series, and seriously intend to air all the episodes. The moratorium of Dalek and Terry Nation stories does not affect the run on ABC (for reasons that are not being given). Doctor Who will air on ABC at 6PM weeknights (except Fridays) starting Monday 15 September, starting with An Unearthly Child. Jason Fraser of the Varos website http://www.varos.net/ will be staying on top of which episodes are airing on which nights as he did when UKTV aired the series. Jason may have to work harder this time - Sue Cowley, the Catalogue Manager for TV Sales at BBC Worldwide, noted Saturday 9 August on the Restoration Team Forum http://www.rtforum.co.uk/ that ABC had ordered some "orphaned" episodes to air as part of their initial package of stories, though she was not at liberty to say which orphaned episodes would air.
The moratorium of Daleks and Terry Nation did affect KERA 13 Dallas, TX http://www.kera.org/ , which had Resurrection of the Daleks scheduled for last week in all print and online media, only to run Planet of Fire instead. I did not think to suggest that KERA might take that action as other stations that have scheduled Dalek stories in recent months have aired them. The Caves of Androzani will air on Saturday August 23 at 10PM, continuing KERA's interesting pattern of airing Doctor Who late on Fridays most weeks but Saturdays when people are still awake during pledge season.
KERA has also done something that may or may not affect Doctor Who in the future. KERA 13 has sold KDTN 2 Denton, TX to Community Television Educators, who will move Daystar's programming from KMPX 29 to channel 2. KERA will therefore have 1 primary channel instead of 2. It is too soon to know what consequences that will have to programming. KERA will still have the right to air programming on the digital subchannels of KDTN-DT when it goes online. Doctor Who has not aired on KDTN during KERA's current run of the series.
BBC Kids http://www.bbckids.ca/ is making schedule changes on 1 September, and Doctor Who fans will have to work even harder to be awake when the show is on. The new time slots:
Early showing - 1AM EDT, Midnight CDT, 11PM MDT, 10PM PDT, 2AM ADT, 2:30AM Newfoundland
Late showing - 3:30AM EDT, 2:30AM CDT, 1:30AM MDT, 12:30AM PDT, 4:30AM ADT, 5AM Newfoundland
Weekdays will still be 2 episodes a day, weekends will be complete stories. Start times will now be the same 7 days a week.
Richard E. Grant (Withnail & I, 10th Doctor in The Curse Of Fatal Death) will be the BBC's official Ninth Doctor in a fully animated webcast on BBCi's website in November, the month of Doctor Who's 40th anniversary. Check out http://www.bbc.co.uk/cult/doctorwho/ for more details.
Upcoming airings of the 1996 Doctor Who TV Movie:
Friday 22 August 2 to 4PM - US Sci-Fi Channel
Wednesday 10 September 8 to 9:35PM UK Sci-Fi Channel
Sunday 14 September 2 to 3:35PM UK Sci-Fi Channel
Monday 15 September 11AM to 12:35PM UK Sci-Fi Channel
Searching through the archives of www.avsforums.com , it turns out that Maryland Public TV began simulcasting its analog programming on one of WMPT-DT 42 Annapolis' subchannels several months ago. Also, WMPB-DT 29 Baltimore has been testing for the last couple of months and seems to be on the air full time, including a subchannel airing the analog lineup. WFPT-DT 28 is currently scheduled to go on the air September 15, 2003. I will be keeping an eye on the reports from the AVS people to try to keep the digital listings more up to date. The digital US channel information will also be listed differently from now on in an attempt to make them more usable to people with access to over the air digital TV. If anyone here has digital TV, let me know if the listing info is better for you now.
UK Gold http://www.ukgold.tv/ has been annoying viewers lately with frequent animated logos appearing on the screen advertising upcoming shows. If you have both UK Gold and UK Gold +1, you might want to try watching Doctor Who on UK Gold +1, where the animated logos have not been appearing so far.
While I try to keep the column up to date, I do sometimes miss late changes to schedules. If you see TWIDW's information getting out of synch with what your local station is actually airing, let me know ASAP.
Additions and corrections are welcome at thisweekindoctorwho- owner@yahoogroups.com , bfelliott@... , bfelliott3 on AOL IM, or thebfe on Yahoo Messenger. And now, the listings:


RADIO/INTERNET:


BBC Radio 4 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/factual/rams/dalek.ram
My Life As A Dalek still archived on the website. 30 minute story of the history of the Daleks.
BBC http://www.bbc.co.uk/cult/doctorwho/
Shada - new 6 episode version of Douglas Adams' TV story. Paul McGann as the 8th Doctor. The 3rd story produced for BBCi.
Real Time - the 6th Doctor battles the Cybermen in this illustrated audio story first produced in 2002. The 2nd story produced for BBCi.
And Coming In November ...
The Scream Of The Shalka - Richard E. Grant as the 9th Doctor in a fully-animated story for the 40th Anniversary. The 4th story produced for BBCi, and the first one to have full animation instead of illustrations.
American Who http://www.americanwho.net/
http://www.interstellartransmissions.com/who/81203.mp3
Jean-Marc Lofficier. Author of the famous "programme guide" that fans had in the 80s as a lifeline to detail the early Doctor Who storys, and that we fans who got into fandom later bought secondhand in the 90s. The Doctor Who Programme Guide is BAAACCCKKK! American Who interviews Mr. Lofficier about the Programme Guide and a novel called Doctor Omega in France that looks suspiciously like Doctor Who.
http://www.interstellartransmissions.com/who/72803.mp3
In depth interview with Colin Baker (6th Doctor) conducted by Charles Martin at Gallifrey 2003. Colin's career, his family, fighting to eliminate cot death, and thoughts on some UK legislation.
Business Talk Radio Network http://www.businesstalkradio.net/
Late Sun/Early Mon 2-6AM EDT (11PM-3AM PDT, 7-11AM BST, 4-8PM
AEST ) Sci-Fi Overdrive

http://www.scifioverdrive.com/ station list on the scifioverdrive website
http://www.businesstalkradio.net/weekday_host/Archives/sfo.shtml - archives in MP3 format
Live audio link at Business Talk website - requires Windows Media Player.
National sci-fi radio talk show, sometimes with Doctor Who content. Easiest to hear in timezones outside the USA. Details not available as of publication time.


TV:


UK:
UK Gold http://www.ukgold.tv/ http://www.onthebox.com/partner/otb
Wed 6PM BST The Ark In Space 2 pt version, ep 1
Thu 6PM BST The Ark In Space 2 pt version, ep 2

In the distant future, the survivors of humanity lie in suspended animation, waiting for a call to awake that never came. The 4th Doctor, Sarah, and Harry try to keep humanity from becoming food to the Wirrn before they can even awake.
Fri 6PM BST The Sontaran Experiment movie
Earth was abandoned millenia ago when solar flares threatened to wipe out all life. As the 4th Doctor and company check out the planet to see if it suitable to live on again, they find that somebody's already there. And planning an invasion.
Late Fri 1-2:50AM BST The Android Invasion movie OR
Late Fri 1:05-2:55AM BST The Androids of Tara movie
The 1AM showing of Android Invasion is reported by UK Gold's website. The 1:05AM showing of The Androids of Tara is reported by On The Box.
Sat 7:15-9AM BST Destiny of the Daleks/"To Be Announced" movie
UK Gold's website lists Destiny of the Daleks. On The Box gives a generic 4th Doctor listing.
Sat 5PM BST Spearhead From Space 2 pt version, ep 1
The TARDIS arrives on Earth during a meteor shower that raises the suspicions of the Brigadier. The Brig thinks that alien activity might be occuring. He really wants the Doctor's view on the matter. But is he really dealing with the Doctor? And if he is, what happened to the man the Brigadier knew? With Jon Pertwee & Caroline John.
Late Sat 1:15-3:15AM, Sun 7:15-9AM BST City of Death movie
The 4th Doctor and Romana vacation in Paris, where time distortion, art thieves, and John Cleese are all around causing trouble. The most watched Doctor Who story ever on its initial run in October 1979, partially because it's well-liked, partly thanks to the strikes that shut down the independent TV station during part of the story's run.
Mon 6PM BST Revenge of the Cybermen 2 pt version, ep 1
Tue 6PM BST Revenge of the Cybermen 2 pt version, ep 2

Back on Nerva Beacon, the 4th Doctor, Sarah, and Harry investigate a suspicious plague that has left the station undermanned just as a mysterious craft approaches. Sometimes the ghosts of the past don't stay buried.

UK Gold + 1
Wed 7PM BST The Ark In Space 2 pt version, ep 1
Thu 7PM BST The Ark In Space 2 pt version, ep 2
Fri 7PM BST The Sontaran Experiment movie
Late Fri 2-3:50AM BST The Android Invasion movie OR
Late Fri 2:05-3:55AM BST The Androids of Tara movie
Sat 6PM BST Spearhead From Space 2 pt version, ep 1
Late Sat 2:15-4:15AM BST City of Death movie
Mon 7PM BST Revenge of the Cybermen 2 pt version, ep 1
Tue 7PM BST Revenge of the Cybermen 2 pt version, ep 2

UK Gold 2
Late Sat 3AM BST Spearhead From Space 2 pt version, ep 1
AUSTRALIA:
ABC Australia http://www.varos.net/drwho/australia/tv/
http://www.abc.net.au/tv/
Monday through Thursday at 6PM AEST, starting 15 September
CANADA/USA:
BBC Kids http://www.bbckids.ca
Weeknights 2 episodes Midnight + 4AM EDT (9PM + 1AM PDT)
Saturday/Sunday complete stories Midnight + 3:30AM EDT (9PM + 12:30AM PDT)
Wed City of Death pts 1+2 of 4
Thu City of Death pts 3+4 of 4

See UK Gold for details.
Fri The Creature from the Pit pts 1+2 of 4
The TARDIS answers a distress call, plopping the 4th Doctor, Romana, and K9 on a jungle world where metal is coveted by an evil female ruler.
Sat Robot all 4 pts
The new 4th Doctor investigates thefts of vital secrets and a powerful Robot hidden at a scientific thinktank called "Think Tank".
Sun The Ark In Space all 4 pts
See UK Gold for details.
Mon The Creature from the Pit pts 3+4 of 4
Erato's secrets can free the planet Chloris from tyranny, but they could also result in Chloris' utter destruction.
Tue Nightmare of Eden pts 1+2 of 4
The 4th Doctor and Romana investigate an interspacial traffic accident that seems to be more than an accident.
Coming Monday 1 September, Doctor Who will begin at 1 + 3:30AM EDT 7 days a week, 2 episodes weekdays, full stories weekends.
SCI-FI US http://www.scifi.com/
Doctor Who 1996 TV Movie
East Feed - 2PM EDT (1PM CDT, Noon MDT, 11AM PDT, 10AM Alaska, 8AM Hawaii)
West Feed - 2PM PDT (3PM MDT, 1PM Alaska, 11AM Hawaii, 4PM CDT, 5PM EDT)

The Master's remains sabotage the TARDIS, forcing a crash landing in San Francisco on December 30, 1999, where the Doctor finds himself in a new body and very limited time to save the Earth from destruction.
» this was listed in error, the episode was shown the following week!
Digital channels are listed by the channel number that will appear on most TVs, with the actual channel location in brackets. Channel numbers followed by * indicate a digital station that is not on the air at last word. The FCC is currently evaluating how to allocate digital assignments to low power stations.
NHPTV New Hampshire http://www.nhptv.org
analog 11, 49, 52
digital 11-2 (57-2), 49-2 (48-2), 52-2 (49-2) - NHPTV-DT not currently on the air in Doctor Who's timeslot
Boston DirecTV Local 11,955
Boston Dish Local 11,8781
Pre-empted by pledge drive. Next episode airs August 30.
WCNY/W59AU Syracuse/Utica, NY http://www.wcny.org
analog 24, 59
digital 24-1 (25-1)
Sun 5:30PM EDT Genesis of the Daleks pt 2 of 6
Revenge of the Cybermen part 2 may air instead. Does anyone know if WCNY aired part 1 of Genesis or Revenge last week?
WSKG Binghamton, NY http://www.wskg.com
analog 46
digital 42* - coming September 2003
Sat 11:30PM EDT The Masque of Mandragora pt 4 of 4
As the world faces doom at the hands of Mandragora, the prince decides to throw a costume party to stem the panic.
WYBE Philadelphia, PA http://www.wybe.org
analog 35
digital 35-1 (34-1)
Philadelphia DirecTV Local 35,909
Philadelphia Dish Local 36,8162 (on 61.5 satellite)
Philadelphia Dish Local 35,8171 (on 129 satellite)
Sat 11PM EDT Kinda pts 1+2 of 4
Nyssa is left in the TARDIS to recover from an illness, while the 5th Doctor, Adric, and Tegan make the mistake of getting involved in the affairs of the Kinda people and human colonists. Tegan gets trapped in a dream of nightmares.
MPT Maryland http://www.mpt.org
analog 22, 67, 62, 28, 31, 36
digital 22-2 (42-2), 67-1 (29-1), 28*, 56*, 44*, 54*
DC/Hagerstown & Baltimore DirecTV Local 22,980
Late Sat Mid EDT Paradise Towers movie
Mel wants to visit the famed swimming pool of the Paradise Towers intergalactic tenement highrise. Alas, Paradise Towers has gone downhill from the place advertised in the brochures. The building is filthy. Half the people are disappearing. And the other half seem insane.
WCET Cincinnati, OH http://www.wcet.org
analog 48
digital 48-2 (34-2)
Cincinnati DirecTV Local 48,909
Cincinnati Dish Local 48,8356
Pre-empted by pledge drive. Doctor Who returns August 23.
WILL Urbana, IL http://www.will.uiuc.edu
analog 12
digital 9*
Sat 11:40PM CDT The Horns of Nimon pt 3 of 4
Romana learns the truth behind the Nimon's "Great Journey Of Life".
IPTV Iowa http://www.sffn.com http://www.iptv.org
analog 11, 12, 21, 24, 27, 32, 32, 36, 36
digital 50, 45*, 25*, 18*, 28*, 33*, 35*, 35*, 34* - simulcast of
analog begins in 2003?
Des Moines DirecTV Local 11,474
Des Moines Dish Local 11,9116
Cedar Rapids Dish Local 12,9161
Omaha, NE Dish Local 32,9146
Sat 11:35PM CDT The Face of Evil pts 1+2 of 4
The 4tb Doctor arrives on a planet where he shares a face with an evil demon and a voice with a god. Introducing Louise Jameson as Leela. Iowa Public TV airs The Airzone Solution (9PM) and Auton (10:30PM) as a pledge night on September 27.
KERA/K44FI Dallas/Wichita Falls, TX http://www.kera.org
analog 13, 44
digital 13-1 (14-1)
Dallas DirecTV Local 13,889
Dallas Dish Local 13,8406
Pre-empted by pledge drives. Next episode airs August 23 at 10PM
(special night and time).
KBDI/K32EO Denver/Colorado Springs, CO http://www.kbdi.org
analog 12, 32
digital 38*
Denver DirecTV Local 12,910
Denver Dish Local 12,8211
Pre-empted by pledge drives. Next episodes air August 30.
KUED/KUES-DT Salt Lake City/Richfield, UT http://www.kued.org
analog 7 (and 80+ translators all over Utah)
digital 7-1 (42-1), 19-1
Salt Lake City DirecTV Local 7,982
Salt Lake City Dish Local 7,8536
Pre-empted by pledge drives next week.
KBTC/KCKA/K65BU Tacoma/Centralia/Gray's River, WA http://www.kbtc.org
analog 28, 15, 65
digital 28-1 (27-1), 19*
Seattle DirecTV Local 12,910
Seattle Dish Local 28,8620
Sat 7PM, Late Sat 12:30AM PDT The Keys of Marinus: The Screaming Jungle ep 3 of 6
Sat 7:30PM, Late Sat 1AM PDT The Keys of Marinus: The Snows of Terror ep 4 of 6
For the first time in the series, episodes were made without the appearance of the Doctor. Ian, Barbara, and Susan search for the keys of Marinus and prepare to rendevous with the Doctor.
KTEH/KCAH San Jose/Watsonville, CA http://www.kteh.org
analog 54, 25
digital 50*, 58*
San Francisco DirecTV Local 54,903
San Francisco Dish Local 54,8234
Monterey Dish Local 25,9190
Sun 8PM PDT The Airzone Solution US Premiere - BBV story, 50 minutes long
The Airzone corporation has been hired to solve ecological chaos in England. When the situation does not improve, a weatherman, a reporter, and a flaky activist form an odd trio trying to unravel the dangerous secrets of Airzone. Produced in 1993, this story stars Jon Pertwee, Peter Davison, Colin Baker, and Sylvester McCoy.
Sun 9:30PM PDT Auton US Premiere - BBV story, 60 minutes long
The U*N*I*T Containment Team is called into action when a relic from the Auton invasions is mysteriously reactivated. First story in a trilogy.
The pledge phone numbers:
(408) 995-5454 and (800) 225-5454
For people pledging, KTEH will offer DVDs for $150, VHS tapes for $120, and CDs for $90
KTEH Interviews with Doctor Who actors, The Airzone Solution, the first 2 Stranger stories, and The Doctors will be available on DVD. The Auton stories, the PROBE story "The Ghost Of Winterbourne", and possibly The Airzone Solution will be available on VHS. Republica and the Stranger story "The Last Mission" will be
available on CD.


Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2003.