This Week in Doctor WhoThis Week in Doctor Who

This Week in Doctor Who: Print Archive


Wednesday 11th June 2003



This Week In Doctor Who - June 11, 2003
(posted 11th Jun 2003, 11:33am - TWIDW post #0160)
THIS WEEK IN DOCTOR WHO - June 11, 2003
by Benjamin F. Elliott
Vol 6, No 24
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho
thisweekindoctorwho-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
Those of us in the US who stay up late or know how to set VCRs - the 1996 Doctor Who TV Movie is airing here on the US Sci-Fi Channel late Sunday June 15th at 1AM EDT East Feed / 1AM PDT West Feed.
While I try to keep the column up to date, I do sometimes miss late changes to schedules. If you see TWIDW's information getting out of synch with what your local station is actually airing, let me know ASAP.
Additions and corrections are welcome at thisweekindoctorwho-owner@yahoogroups.com , bfelliott@... , bfelliott3 on AOL IM, or thebfe on Yahoo Messenger. And now, the listings:


RADIO/INTERNET:


BBC http://www.bbc.co.uk/cult/doctorwho/
Shada - new 6 episode version of Douglas Adams' TV story left unfinished in 1979. Now an audio story with illustrations. Stars Paul McGann as the Doctor, Lalla Ward as Romana, and John Leeson as K9.
All 6 Episodes Now Online!
American Who http://www.interstellartransmissions.com/who
The next episode will go online on Thursday June 12. Scheduled guest - Jennifer Adams Kelly ("The Federation").
Also online: http://www.interstellartransmissions.com/who/52703.mp3 - Jon Pertwee; Gail Bennett
First, a 1982 interview that South Florida broadcaster Chuck Zinc had with Jon Pertwee discussing Doctor Who, Worzel Grummidge, and other acting topics. The second part of the show has Joey Reynolds' 2001 interview with Gail Bennett, fan illustrator whose artwork got used on the UK editions of the Doctor Who Find Your Fate books of the 1980s, in a discussion remembering Jon Pertwee. The 5/19 edition with Wendy Padbury and Charles Martin is still online at the American Who website.
Business Talk Radio Network http://www.businesstalkradio.net/
Late Sun/Early Mon 2-6AM EDT (11PM-3AM PDT, 7-11AM BST, 4-8PM AEST ) Sci-Fi Overdrive
http://www.scifioverdrive.com/ station list on the scifioverdrive website
http://www.businesstalkradio.net/weekday_host/Archives/sfo.shtml - archives in MP3 format
Live audio link at Business Talk website - requires Windows Media Player.
National sci-fi radio talk show, sometimes with Doctor Who content. Easiest to hear in timezones outside the USA. Hour 1 - worldwide sci-fi news. Hour 2 - Robert C. Cooper, a writer on Stargate SG-1. Hour 3 - Gary Jones from Stargate SG-1. Hour 4 - Alexander Gould from Finding Nemo, plus DVD reviews.


TV:


UK:
UK Gold http://www.onthebox.com/partner/otb
Late Fri 1:10-3AM, Sat 7:15-9AM BST The Masque of Mandragora movie
Late Sat 1:20-3:10AM, Sun 7:15-9AM BST The Hand Of Fear movie


UK Gold + 1
Late Fri 2:10-4AM BST The Masque of Mandragora movie
Late Sat 1:50-4:30AM BST The Hand Of Fear movie
Homechoice http://www.homechoice.co.uk
Video On Demand. Now playing:
Robot all 4 pts
The Ark In Space all 4 pts
The Sontaran Experiment both pts
EUROPE:
TELE 5 Poland http://www.tele5.pl/
Weekdays 4:40PM CET "Tom Baker episodes with Polish subtitles"
TELE 5 ran 26 Tom Baker episodes last year, and has been rerunning them on weekdays for the last few weeks. Their website is of little use in determining which stories are airing, and the episode order was largely random, so seeing part 4 of, say, The Brain of Morbius, would give you no clue as to what the next story would be. The link to their schedule is now
down.
CANADA/USA:
BBC Kids http://www.bbckids.ca
Weeknights 2 episodes Midnight + 4AM EDT (9PM + 1AM PDT)
Saturday/Sunday complete stories Midnight + 3:30AM EDT (9PM + 12:30AM PDT)
Wed The Brain of Morbius pts 3+4 of 4
Thu The Seeds of Doom pts 1+2 of 6
Fri The Seeds of Doom pts 3+4 of 6
Sat The Ribos Operation all 4 pts
Sun The Pirate Planet all 4 pts
Mon The Seeds of Doom pts 5+6 of 6
Tue The Masque of Mandragora pts 1+2 of 4
Channel numbers in brackets ( ) indicate a digital station that is not on the air. All stations currently airing Doctor Who that do not have digital t ransmitters on the air have received wavers from the FCC giving them till November 1, 2003 to go on the air. Low power stations do not currently have digital assignments.
SCI-FI http://www.scifi.com/
Doctor Who 1996 TV Movie
East Feed - Late Sun 1-3AM EDT, Mid-2AM, CDT, 11PM-1AM MDT, 10PM-Mid PDT, 9-11PM Alaska, 7-9PM Hawaii
West Feed - Late Sun 1-3AM PDT, 2-4AM MDT, Mid-2AM Alaska, 10PM-Mid Hawaii, 3-5AM CDT, 4-6AM EDT
NHPTV New Hampshire http://www.nhptv.org
analog 11,49,52
digital 57,48,(49) - simulcast of analog begins in 2003?
Boston DirecTV Local 11,955
Boston Dish Local 11,8781
Late Sat Mid EDT Time and the Rani pt 1 of 4
WCNY/W59AU Syracuse/Utica, NY http://www.wcny.org
analog 24,59
digital 25-1
Pre-empted by pledge drives. Next episode June 22nd.
WSKG Binghamton, NY http://www.wskg.com
analog 46
digital (42)
Sat 11PM EDT The Brain of Morbius pt 4 of 4
Sat 11:30PM EDT The Seeds of Doom pt 1 of 6
WYBE Philadelphia, PA http://www.wybe.org
analog 35
digital 34-1
Philadelphia DirecTV Local 35,909
Philadelphia Dish Local 35,8162
Sat 11PM EDT Warriors' Gate pts 3+4 of 4
MPT Maryland http://www.mpt.org
analog 22,67,28,31,62,36
digital 42,(29),(62),(44),(28),(56) - simulcast of analog begins in 2003?
DC/Hagerstown & Baltimore DirecTV Local 22,980
Late Sat Mid EDT The Two Doctors movie
MPT airs The Two Doctors out of order as usual. MarkOfTheRani will air next week. Virtually every US station airing the series from 1985 to 1999 aired these two stories out of order, till BBC Worldwide Americas finally sent out a bulletin indicating the original UK order. The stories have no continuity issues, so there is no harm in this.
WCET Cincinnati, OH http://www.wcet.org
analog 48
digital 34-2
Cincinnati DirecTV Local 48,909
Cincinnati Dish Local 48,8356
Sat 11PM EDT The Mark of the Rani/The Two Doctors 4/6 pt version, pts 1+2
» it was The Two Doctors
WILL Urbana, IL http://www.will.uiuc.edu
analog 12
digital (9)
Sat 11:40PM EDT The Creature from the Pit pt 2 of 4
IPTV Iowa http://www.sffn.com http://www.iptv.org
analog 11,12,21,24,27,32,32,36
digital 50,(45),(25),(18),(28),(33),(35),(35) - simulcast of analog begins in 2003?
Des Moines DirecTV Local coming soon
Des Moines Dish Local 11,9116
Cedar Rapids Dish Local 12,9161
Omaha, NE Dish Local 32,9146
Sat 11:35PM CDT The Seeds of Doom pts 1+2 of 6
KERA/K44FI Dallas/Wichita Falls, TX http://www.kera.org
analog 13,44
digital 14-1
Dallas DirecTV Local 13,889
Dallas Dish Local 13,8406
Late Fri 12:30AM CDT Mawdryn Undead movie
KBDI/K32EO Denver/Colorado Springs, CO http://www.kbdi.org
analog 12,32
digital (38)
Denver DirecTV Local 12,910
Denver Dish Local 12,8211
Late Fri 12:30AM MDT The Greatest Show in the Galaxy all 4 pts
Sat 11PM MDT Remembrance of the Daleks pts 1+2 of 4
KUED/KUES-DT Salt Lake City/Richfield, UT http://www.kued.org
analog 7
digital 42-1,19-1
Salt Lake City DirecTV Local 7,982
Salt Lake City Dish Local 7,8536
Sat 11:30PM MDT The Keeper of Traken pt 1 of 4
KBTC/KCKA/K65BU Tacoma/Centralia/Gray's River, WA http://www.kbtc.org
analog 28,15,65
digital 27-1,(19)
Seattle DirecTV Local 12,910
Seattle Dish Local 28,8620
Sat 7PM, Late Sat 12:30AM PDT Ghost Light pts 1+2 of 3
KTEH/KCAH San Jose/Watsonville, CA http://www.kteh.org
analog 54,25
digital (50),(58)
San Francisco DirecTV Local 54,903
Salinas Dish Local 25,9190
Doctor Who is on hiatus.


Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2003.